Fecha límite:

An extraordinary choreography competition lies behind us: for the first time in its 34-year history, it did not take place on the stage of the Theater am Aegi in 2020, as in previous years, but online on the Internet due to Corona.

We are happy and proud to have chosen this alternative: we were able to award the young artists* their cash prizes, which they urgently need in their uncertain situation at the moment - and with the production prizes they will have the chance to work on a new piece next season and finally show themselves to an audience again.

Now we very much hope that we will be able to hold our 35th competition in 2021 again live at the Theater am Aegi.

Gregor Zöllig, chief choreographer of the dance theater at the Staatstheater Braunschweig, has been the artistic director of the competition since 2020.

These are the competition guidelines:
All participants, choreographers and dancers, ought to have professional training. Choreographers must be 39 or younger. The competition is open to any kind of style. Evaluation is based exclusively on imaginative use of space and time, the realisation of an idea, and its transfer onto the performers. The duration of the performance, have to be between 5 and 12 minutes. A solo-ballet may not be interpreted by the choreographer him/herself. The applicant is free in his choice of subject and music. The choreographic work can be send as an Internet link ( youtube, vimeo, etc.) A DVD is also accepted.

Deadline: 26. March 2021

Jury 2021
Jacopo Godani – Artistic Director and Choreographer Dresden Frankfurt Dance Compagnie
Marco Goecke - Director Ballet Staatstheater Hannover
Anna Konjetzky - Choreographer and Artist
Toula Limnaios - Choreographiner, Interpret and Artistic Director cie. toula limnaios
Honji Wang - choreographer and artistic director WR – Wang Ramirez
Richard Wherlock - Director Ballet Basel
Gregor Zöllig – Artistic Director & Chief Choreographer Staatstheater Braunschweig

Jury Production Awards 2021
Marco Goecke - Director Ballet Staatstheater Hannover
Kevin Haigen – Artistic Director Bundesjugendballett
Guido Markowitz - Director Ballet Theater Pforzheim
Giuseppe Spota - Director MiR Dance Company at Musiktheater im Revier
Stephan Thoss - Intendant Dance and Chief Choreographer Nationaltheater Mannheim
Ed Wubbe - Director Scapino Ballett, Rotterdam

Prejury 2021
Maria Campos - Director NG / MC
Heather Jurgensen - 1. Ballet Master and deputy Director Ballet Theater Kiel
Gregor Zöllig - Artistic Director & Chief Choreographer Staatstheater Braunschweig

A total sum of 14.500.- EUR in prize money, as well as three production awards will be awarded. 1st prize = 6.000.- EUR / 2nd prize = 3.000.- EUR /
3rd prize = 2.000.- EUR / Audience Award 1.000.- EUR / Online Award 1.000.- EUR / Award of the critics: 1.500.- EUR

Production Awards

NEW: MiR Dance Company Production Award
The director of the MiR Dance Company at the Musiktheater im Revier Gelsenkirchen, Giuseppe Spota, will award a production award for the first time in 2021.

NEW: Production Award from Tanja Liedtke Foundation at Staatstheater Hannover
Marco Goecke, Ballet Director at Staatstheater Hannover, awards a production prize for the first time. The Award includes the development of a 15-minute choreography with the dancers of the theater. The fee for this is donated by the Tanja Liedtke Foundation.

Production Award Theater Pforzheim
The Theater Pforzheim donates a production prize for the multi-part, contemporary ballet evening "TANZ PUR". The winner is invited to create a world premiere with dancers of the Ballett Theater Pforzheim. Ballet director Guido Markowitz, member of the jury, will award the prize. The artist's fee includes the accommodation costs during the production period.

NTM Production Award
The winner of the NTM Production Award receives the offer to work with the Ensemble of the NTM Dance to create a choreography at the Nationaltheater Mannheim as part of a multi-part dance evening. The prize is awarded by Stephan Thoss, Director Dance and Chief Choreographer at the Nationaltheater Mannheim.

Scapino Production Award
Since 2005 Ed Wubbe awards the Scapino production award. The award includes the development of an unique choreography with dancers from Scapino Ballet and the presentation in the series TWOOLS.

Bundesjugendballett Production Award
The Bundesjugendballett was founded by John Neumeier in 2011. Since 2012 the Bundesjugendballett also sponsors a production award. Part of the award is the development of a choreography with the Bundesjugendballett.

For more informations: www.choreography-hannover.de


Be sociable share - Se sociable. Comparte.

© Prohibida la reproducción total o parcial de textos, fotos y videos sin autorización escrita de sus autores.
(Los textos, fotos y videos utilizados en esta publicación son propiedad intelectual de sus autores y a los efectos previstos en el art.32.1, párrafo segundo, del TRLPI, se prohibe expresamente su reproducción, total o parcial, sin autorización previa por escrito.)